Umami Translations
Camille Onoda
English-French / German-French

In a fast changing world, you cannot afford to make a mistake. You have to act quickly while maintaining a high level of quality. As a translator specialised in international development and cooperation, humanitarian aid and sport, I am here to help you with your English-French translation, editing or proofreading projects or your German-French ones.

How can I help you?

Translation

A professional translator only translates into his or her mother tongue. I therefore exclusively translate from English and German into French from France. Your communication documents reflect the identity of your company or organization; you created them with care in order to convey your message to your customers and partners: entrust your documents to a professional translator.

Editing

In addition to proofreading, I can assess the style, tone, syntax and readability of your texts or translations and partially or completely rewrite them to ensure accuracy and coherence.

Proofreading

I can check your translations or texts written in French, by a native or near-native level French speaker, against the original and make sure that everything is correct. Spelling, grammar, punctuation and formatting are examined making sure that the final product is flawless.

Areas of specialisation

My expertise is based on my values and passions. Do not hesitate to contact me on info@umamitranslations.com to see how we can work together on your project.

International development and cooperation, humanitarian aid

I translate for NGOs, associations and intergovernmental organizations:

  • press releases;
  • training and e-learning materials;
  • HR documents;
  • communication to partners;
  • field research reports;
  • field manual for negotiators.

Translation plays a central and fundamental role for NGOs and other international organizations. Without it, many humanitarian missions could not be deployed on a large scale, networks and contacts could not be established and the messages conveyed would be greatly impoverished.

I assist NGOs and other international organizations in communicating and promoting their actions and mandates.

Sport (road bike, MTB, street trial, adventure travel and hiking)

Specialised translator and above all passionate about bike riding (road bike, mountain bike, and street trial bike), adventure travels and hiking, I grew up in the Massif Central mountain chain in France, and now live in Japan. Sport has been part of my life for as long as I can remember.

I understand and know your audience, your culture and your products.

I translate:

  • social networks posts;
  • newsletters;
  • catalogues;
  • brochures;
  • guides;
  • sports results;
  • interviews;
  • press releases.

Tourism and hospitality

Coming from a family of hotel owners, I grew up in this environment and therefore know it perfectly. With nearly 10 years of professional experience, I have always been in contact with international clients, mainly French, English and German speaking. I have occupied different positions, such as head of reception or restaurant manager.

The notion of service, discretion, patience and understanding are my priorities when working with your documents.

I translate your:

  • blog posts;
  • newsletters;
  • booking documents;
  • communication materials for your customers;
  • answers to Tripadvisor comments or other similar Websites;
  • training manuals.

Testimonials

Gilles-Philippe / Partnerships Program Officer


It is with great pleasure and enthousiasm that I write in support of Camille who has been collaborating with the Watchlist on Children and Armed Conflict (Watchlist) as French-English translator and proofreader. I had the opportunity to collaborate with her on various projects including proofreading and translation and editing of training materials, press releases and communications to partners. She has demonstrated great skills and competencies in her profession. She is precise and meticulous with her work and pays great attention to details. She is very personable and her communication style is fluid and highly professional.

Alexandra S. / Communication officer


J’ai pu constater la très grande qualité du travail fourni par Camille au fil de notre collaboration. Elle a fait preuve d’un grand professionnalisme et est capable de travailler d’un contexte d’urgence en délivrant un travail de grande qualité. Elle a fait preuve d’une très forte capacité à s’immerger dans le domaine traité, en restituant un vocabulaire précis et en suggérant des traductions adaptées. Je recommande le travail de Camille qui m’a donné pleine satisfaction, et a permis de développer profondément le site web de l’association dans sa version française.

Who am I?

Passionate about sports, cooking, travelling, learning languages or reading, choosing a path was not an easy task. I finally decided to study foreign languages and in 2011, after graduating with a Bachelor degree, I spent a year in England. When I returned, I started working in the hospitality industry and worked as a part-time translator.

In 2014, I decided to live for a year in Japan, in Tokyo. I worked there, learned the language and I became so passionate about the culture that I settled there permanently in 2018. But this time in Nagoya, where I work as a full-time translator.

Why me

As I wanted to deepen my knowledge and seek recognition of my linguistic and translation skills, I passed the Diploma in Translation of the Chartered Institute of Linguists in 2013, I did an intensive one-year training course in translation in 2018 and I now hold a Master’s degree in translation since February 2020. (Ci3M – Professional and continuing education centre)

A complex translation project? I like to take on challenges and use my determination to meet your needs. Curious by nature, I dive into your universe to better understand you and find the best tailored solution to your project.

Want to know more about me? Ask me for a CV!

Philosophy

I rarely turn down a project because of a budget issue. Passionate about my work and my areas of specialisation, if the subject interests me, if the project can enrich my knowledge and if it serves the common good, I will do everything I can to make this work for you and me.

Consistent quality commitment

  • Reliable, precise and meticulous translator

  • Expertise and experience

  • Confidentiality and transparency

  • On-time delivery and availability

  • Listening to your needs and finding tailored solutions

  • Care and passion!

Umami Translations
Camille Onoda
Anglais-français / allemand-français

Dans un monde en constante évolution, vous ne pouvez pas vous permettre de commettre la moindre erreur. C’est pourquoi il faut souvent agir rapidement tout en maintenant un haut niveau de qualité et de précision. En tant que traductrice spécialisée depuis 2011 dans le développement et la coopération internationale, l’aide humanitaire et le sport, je vous accompagne dans tous vos projets de traduction, de correction ou de relecture, anglais-français et allemand-français.

Comment puis-je vous aider ?

Traduction

Je traduis uniquement vers le français, ma langue maternelle, dans le respect du code déontologique de la SFT (Société française des traducteurs). Je traduis les mots mais surtout le message que vous voulez transmettre. Vos documents reflètent l’image de votre entreprise ou de votre organisation ; vous les avez élaborés avec soin afin de transmettre votre message à vos clients et partenaires. La traduction requiert autant de recherche et d’exigence : confiez vos documents à une traductrice professionnelle.

Relecture

Je contrôle avec soin vos documents en français et vérifie l’orthographe, la grammaire, la ponctuation, la coupure des mots suivant les règles et la typographie (guillemets, apostrophes, traits d’union et tirets, alinéas, etc.). Je les compare avec leurs sources pour en repérer les erreurs éventuelles.

Révision

Je m’assure que vos textes soient bien traduits et bien écrits. J’évalue la syntaxe, le style et la qualité de l’expression de vos documents (rédigés par une personne dont la langue maternelle est le français). Je vous suggère des modifications et si vous le souhaitez, réécris partiellement ou entièrement le texte.

Mes domaines de prédilection

Ils sont modelés sur mes valeurs et mes passions. N’hésitez pas à me contacter sur info@umamitranslations.com afin d’analyser ensemble vos besoins et votre projet.

Coopération internationale et aide humanitaire

Je traduis pour des associations, des ONG et des organisations intergouvernementales :

  • communiqués de presse ;
  • programmes de formation ;
  • documents de communication interne et RH ;
  • rapports de missions et de recherches ;
  • notes de situation sur le terrain ;
  • manuels pour les négociateurs et négociatrices.

La traduction joue un rôle central et fondamental pour les ONG et autres organisations internationales. Sans elle, certaines missions humanitaires ne pourraient se déployer à grande échelle, des réseaux, contacts ne pourraient être établis et les messages véhiculés n’en seraient qu’appauvris.

J’aide les ONG et autres organisations internationales dans leurs démarches de communication, de diffusion d’informations et de promotion de leurs actions et mandats.

Sport (vélo de route, VTT, street trial, voyages d’aventure et randonnée)

Traductrice spécialisée et surtout passionnée de randonnée, de vélo de route, de VTT et de street trial, le sport rythme mon quotidien depuis toujours ; du cœur du Massif du Sancy en Auvergne j’ai grandi, jusqu’au Japon, mon nouveau terrain de jeu.

Au-delà de mes capacités linguistiques, je comprends et connais votre culture, vos produits et votre public.

Je traduis notamment des :

  • articles de réseaux sociaux ;
  • newsletters ;
  • catalogues de produits ;
  • brochures ;
  • descriptions d’itinéraires de randonnée et de parcours à vélo ;
  • résultats sportifs ;
  • interviews;
  • communiqués de presse.

Tourisme et hôtellerie

Issue d’une famille d’hôteliers restaurateurs, j’ai grandi dans ce milieu et le connaît donc parfaitement. Forte d’une expérience professionnelle de près de 10 ans, j’ai été au contact d’une clientèle internationale, essentiellement francophone, anglophone et allemande. J’ai occupé des postes à responsabilité, tels que cheffe de réception ou encore cheffe de rang.

La notion de service, la discrétion, la patience et l’écoute sont mes priorités lorsque je traite vos documents.

Je traduis notamment vos :

  • articles de blogues ;
  • newsletters ;
  • documents de réservation ;
  • supports de communication destinés à votre clientèle ;
  • réponses aux avis Tripadvisor ou autres sites Internet similaires ;
  • manuels de formation destinés à vos équipes.

Ils me font confiance

Gilles-Philippe – Partnerships program officer


It is with great pleasure and enthousiasm that I write in support of Camille who has been collaborating with the Watchlist on Children and Armed Conflict (Watchlist) as French-English translator and proofreader. I had the opportunity to collaborate with her on various projects including proofreading and translation and editing of training materials, press releases and communications to partners. She has demonstrated great skills and competencies in her profession. She is precise and meticulous with her work and pays great attention to details. She is very personable and her communication style is fluid and highly professional.

Alexandra S. – Chargée de communication


J’ai pu constater la très grande qualité du travail fourni par Camille au fil de notre collaboration. Elle a fait preuve d’un grand professionnalisme et est capable de travailler d’un contexte d’urgence en délivrant un travail de grande qualité. Elle a fait preuve d’une très forte capacité à s’immerger dans le domaine traité, en restituant un vocabulaire précis et en suggérant des traductions adaptées. Je recommande le travail de Camille qui m’a donné pleine satisfaction, et a permis de développer profondément le site web de l’association dans sa version française.

Qui suis-je ?

Passionnée de sport, de cuisine, de voyage, de langues étrangères ou encore de lecture, choisir une voie n’a pas été chose facile. J’ai finalement entrepris des études en langues étrangères et en 2011, ma licence en poche, je pars vivre un an en Angleterre. À mon retour, je me lance dans l’hôtellerie restauration et travaille en parallèle en tant que traductrice.

En 2014, je décide de partir vivre un an au Japon, à Tokyo. J’y travaille, j’apprends la langue et me passionne tellement pour cette culture que je m’y suis définitivement installée en 2018. Mais cette fois-ci à Nagoya, d’où j’exerce mon métier de traductrice à temps plein.

Pourquoi me choisir

Souhaitant approfondir mes connaissances et obtenir une reconnaissance de mes compétences linguistiques et traductives, j’ai obtenu en 2013, la certification du Chartered Institute of Linguists de Londres (DipTrans CIOL), et j’ai suivi une formation intensive en traduction en 2018-2019. Je suis maintenant titulaire d’un Master en traduction depuis février 2020, grâce au centre de formation Ci3M.

Un projet de traduction complexe ? J’aime relever des défis et mets ma détermination au service de vos besoins. Curieuse de nature, je me plonge avec passion dans votre univers pour mieux vous comprendre et être en phase avec votre projet. Mon énergie ? Je la trouve dans mes pauses gourmandes… et japonaises bien sûr !

Pour en savoir plus, demandez-moi un CV.

Philosophie

Je refuse rarement un projet pour une question de budget. Passionnée par mon travail et mes domaines de prédilection, si le sujet m’intéresse, que le projet peut enrichir mes connaissances et qu’il sert le bien commun, nous trouverons sans aucun doute un terrain d’entente.

Mon engagement qualité

  • Traductrice fiable, précise et méticuleuse

  • Expertise et expérience

  • Confidentialité et transparence

  • Respect des délais et disponibilté

  • Écoute de vos besoins

  • Confiance et passion !